May 20 • 11:37 AM
arrow Back

Salute to Service Awards

Dear Editor,

On Feb. 11, the Salute to Service Awards Ceremony wAs held at the Lapeer County Center Building. Nearly 140 guests gathered to recognize the accomplishments of ten recipients of the Salute to Service Awards. This successful fundraising event benefits the K-12 Service Learning Center.

Special thanks to award sponsor Meijer; major donors Durakon Industries, Lapeer Optimist Club, William Patterson; other donors Lapeer County Bank & Trust, John Freeman, Dyle Henning and Oanh Thu Henning; Emil Joseph, Burns and Doris Rolland, Jay Vanderest, DDS; silent auction donors Creative Memories by Tina House, Dragonfly Lodge at Higgins Lake, Girl Scouts Fair Winds Council, Growth & Opportunity; Chuck and Annette Gunderson, Dyle Henning and Oanh Thu Henning, Lapeer County 4-H Celebrity Autographed Items Auction, Lapeer County Master Gardeners, Lapeer County MSU Extension, Lapeer County Parks, Lynch Elementary School staff, Mel Major, Maple Grove Elementary School staff, Breigh Montgomery, Jon and Sandy Montgomery, Premier Condominium Management LLC, Joe Suma, Wendy and Mallory Tanis, Vronch's Photos & Framing, Wal-Mart, Janet Watz; program book advertisers Asthma Allergy & Sinus Center, D&T Management & Tax Service LLC, Kevin Daley for State Representative, Hello World, Lapeer County Bank & Trust, Lapeer County Community Mental Health, Lapeer County Vision Centers, Lapeer Regional Medical Center, Michael Murphy DDS, Nolin, Oesch, Sieting & Macksound PC, Ross Automotive Supply Inc., Rowe Incorporated.

Thank you also to Rick Van Haaften for serving as master of ceremonies; Barbara Klocko for her inspirational and informative talk as guest speaker; Lapeer East High School senior Katherine Hancock for delivering the closing address; Maple Grove Elementary School for sponsoring 'Hat on to Service' days; Schickler Elementary School for sponsoring staff 'Dress Down' days; many youth from Lapeer East High School Jr. National Honor Society and 4-H members for helping with event preparation and serving as greeters/seaters; Planning Committee members Barb DePree, Dyle Henning, Krista Krefeld, Penny Lankey, Deb Marquardt, Sandy Montgomery, Karen Roys and Janet Watz.

We also appreciate the outstanding contributions to youth community service and service learning made by Salute to Service Award recipients Vikki Bishop (Almont Middle School), Patrick Lothrop (Lynch Elementary School), Peter McCreedy (Flint River Watershed Coalition and Chatfield School), Wendy Tanis, Lapeer County 4-H Youth Programs), Lapeer East High School Junior National Honor Society, Lapeer North Winds Service Unit (Girl Scouts), Visit Grandma & Grandpa—Lapeer Schools at Suncrest, North Branch High School—Service with Impact From Teens, Dynamic Dance (North Branch), and Extreme Cheer & Dance (Imlay City).

This special event gave our community the opportunity to support youth community service and service learning in Lapeer County. We appreciate all of the people who made the evening such a success.

Annette M. Gunderson, K-12 Service Learning Center, Lapeer
February 27, 2008

Castle Creek
Milnes Ford
Letter Search
05 - 20 - 19
Site Search

Thanks for visiting Tri City Times