July 15 • 09:07 PM

Bulger a 'Mr. Tennis' candidate

Almont senior All-Stater one of four in the running for Michigan's best

November 24, 2010
ALMONT — Almont senior Matt Bulger netted an appearance on the Michigan High School Tennis Coaches Association Division 4 All-State first team lineup which was announced recently.

Last fall Bulger, the Blue Water Area Conference's Most Valuable Player, took wins in 23 out of 30 court confrontations as Almont's number one singles performer. Six of his seven setbacks came to first team All-State selections, including a loss to the number one seed at the state finals.

He earned the distinction of flight champion at the Blue Water Area Conference Tournament and at a Division 4 regional that his school hosted, the second straight year he has accomplished the feat.

Bulger also reached the second round at the Division 4 state tournament.

Matt Bulger, of Almont, gets ready to hit a backhand during a match this past fall.
In addition to that, Bulger was a finalist for the Mr. Tennis Award. He is the first Almont player ever to be in the running for the honor.

With his assistance, Almont won the Blue Water Area Conference Tournament title and ranked second as far as the final league standings were concerned.

Almont also garnered a second at a Division 4 regional and claimed a 10th at the state finals.

Bulger ended his four-year stint on Almont's squad with an 85-32 career mark.

He is joined on the squad by:


First team- John Adams, Ann Arbor Greenhills; Alejandro Blake, Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett; Brad Plaisier, Kalamazoo Christian; Tim Spitzer, Kalamazoo Hackett; Robert Stevens, Kalamazoo Christian; Paul Heeder, Lansing Catholic; Paul Reed, Monroe St. Mary Catholic Central; Spencer Milbocker, Otsego; Chance Conley, Portland; Brett Graham, Williamston; and Michael Sienko, Williamston.

Honorable mention- Mihun Saha, Ann Arbor Greenhills; Matt Cloutier, Grosse Ile; Matt Smith, Grosse Ile; Larry Daniel, Muskegon Catholic Central; and Stefan Miller, North Muskegon.


First team- A.J. Gay and Ben Froehlich, Ann Arbor Greenhills; David Goldfarb and Shamik Ganguly, Ann Arbor Greenhills; Ryan Henckel and Jake Walsh, Buchanan; Tim Sassack and Saim Choudry, Grosse Ile; Greg Waddell and Peter Murray, Lansing Catholic; John Snider and Marshall Scheldt, North Muskegon; plus Patrick Wilson and Michael Elliott, Traverse City St. Francis.

Honorable mention- Tyler Smith and Austin Brinker, Grant; Jake Schuitema and John Daniel, Muskegon Catholic Central; Jonathan Rickli and Zachary Radcliffe, Otsego; J.J. Martin and Chris Gagleard, Richmond; plus Nate Johnson and Matt McKissack, Whitehall.

Kevin Kissane has been covering high school sports for the Tri-City Times since 1985. When not standing on a field or court with his camera and notepad, he enjoys golf, travel and family. Kevin is a 1980 graduate of Capac High School, and is also a grad of St. Clair Community College and earned a degree in journalism from Central Michigan University.
Castle Creek
Napco Pipe
07 - 15 - 19
Site Search


Thanks for visiting Tri City Times