March 23 • 08:59 PM

White, Morgan draw plaudits on Div.5-6 All-State grid lineup

Capac’s James Morgan bulls his way through the Imlay City defense during a game this season. Morgan, along with teammate Pat White, gained mention on the AP Division 5-6 All-State lineup chosen last week. photo by Kevin Kissane.

December 02, 2009
CAPAC — The Capac football team placed two of their players on the Associated Press Division 5-6 All-State lineup which was announced this past week.

Pat White, a 6-4 and 295-pound senior offensive tackle, headlined the list of Capac honorees by attaining All-State Special Mention status.

It was his presence up front that enabled Capac to accumulate 2,827 rushing yards this past fall.

James Morgan, a 5-10 and 190-pound senior fullback, was selected to the honorable mention portion of the team.

He amassed a Tri-City best rushing output of 1,316 rushing yards and collected six touchdowns this fall.

It took him 225 totes, an average of 5.9 yards per carry, to generate that total.

Capac ended the 2009 campaign as owners of a 7-4 overall mark, claiming district runnerup honors en route. The Chiefs also sported a 5-2 Blue Water Area Conference showing, good enough for a share of second place along with Yale and Richmond.

The Capac duo are joined on the Associated Press Division 5-6 All-State squad by:

Co-Players of the Year- Ovid-Elsie's Chris Robinson and Montague's Cody Kater share the honor.

Quarterbacks- Cody Kater, Montague; and Willie Snead IV, Muskegon Heights.

Running backs- Chris Robinson, Ovid-Elsie; Torrey Cordell, Flint Beecher; Chris Brown, Wyoming Kelloggsville; Robert Essex, Carrollton; and Justin Stutler, Millington.

Receivers- Michael Richmond, Wyoming Kelloggsville; Matt Dejong, Montague; and Eddie Dancy, Ecorse.

Linemen- Leland Ewing, Jackson Lumen Christi; Kent King, Gladstone; Bill Ivan, Charlevoix; Eric Neuenfeldt, Freeland; Cameron Allen, Clare; Demontea Higgins, Flint Beecher; and Mitch Thompson, Lake City.

Linebackers- Drew Pineda, Montague; Percy Johnson, Madison Heights Madison; Tyler Havens, Morley Stanwood; and Nick Foco, Pinconning.

Defensive backs- Troy Hecht, Vassar; Noah Reyhl, Suttons Bay; and Matt Vandervliet, Grand Rapids Northpointe Christian.

Specialist- Howard Crippen, Clawson.

Punter- Shane Sullivan, Hartford.

Placekicker- Jamie Potts, Muskegon Oakridge.

Coach of the Year- Don Galster, Wyoming Kelloggsville.

Special Mention (nominees receiving two or more votes from the 10-member panel):

Running back- Mario Hernandez, Bronson.

Receivers- Mike Yocum, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; Van Parker, Muskegon Heights; and Christian Marble, Ithaca.

Linemen- Shawn Kamm, Saginaw Nouvel; James Patrick, Harper Woods; Isaac Bjorn, Calumet; Kyle Eilers, Montague; Derek Horn, Muskegon Heights; Max Goodrich, Watervliet; Scott Hough, Jackson Lumen Christi; Kenny Snyder, Remus Chippewa Hills; and Keith Perry, Sandusky.

Linebacker- Eric Critchlow, Olivet.

Defensive back- Jamie Potts, Muskegon Oakridge.

Specialist- Robert McIntyre, Whitmore Lake.

Coach- Greg Pscodna, Michigan Center.

Honorable mention- (nominees receiving one or no votes from the 10-member panel):

Quarterbacks- Kevin Eastman, Watervliet; Nolan O'Brien, Berrien Springs; Alex Niznak, Ithaca; Jeff O'Brien, Stockbridge; Josh Herbeck, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; Zach Wolcott, Grayling; Kris English, Clare; Luke Voelker, Elkton-Pigeon BayPort; Dillon Fitz, Farwell; Alan VanNortwick, Sanford Meridian; Nate Sturos, Calumet; Kyle Dinkins, Ecorse; and Rob Feeman, Clawson.

Running backs- Michael Shoop, Muskegon Oakridge; Zane Brugger, Byron; Tre Cleveland, Grandville Calvin Christian; Dillon Rankin, Manistee; Tyler Espitia, Pinconning; Cliff Winkler, Houghton Lake; Eric Decker, Sanford Meridian; Tyler Nieman, St. Charles; Ryan Miller, Saginaw Nouvel; Terrance Hartfield, Harper Woods; and Clint Northrop, Sandusky.

Receivers- Aaron Dabicci, Watervliet; and Brandon Krause, Sanford Meridian.

Linemen- Bryan Terrell, Ovid-Elsie.

Linebackers- Greg Miller, Albion; Tom Little, Laingsburg; Jake Arrasmith, Allendale; Donatello Sanders, Ecorse; Elbert Butler, Flint Beecher.

Defensive back- Jordan Jackson, Lake City; and Mike Vandermus, Harbor Springs.

Specialists- Connor Sullivan, Jackson Lumen Christi; Brandon Krause, Sanford Meridian; Danny Larkins, Madison Heights Madison; and Matt English, Clare.

Kickers- Cam Colson, Olivet; and Miguel Garcia, Evart.

Coaches- Courtney Hawkins, Flint Beecher; Pat Collins, Montague; Jerry Goosen, Ovid Elsie; Drake Wilkins, Madison Heights Madison; Jeff Gallup, Bronson; and Jeremy Killinger, Stockbridge.

Kevin Kissane has been covering high school sports for the Tri-City Times since 1985. When not standing on a field or court with his camera and notepad, he enjoys golf, travel and family. Kevin is a 1980 graduate of Capac High School, and is also a grad of St. Clair Community College and earned a degree in journalism from Central Michigan University.
Castle Creek
03 - 23 - 19
Site Search

Thanks for visiting Tri City Times
Chemical Bank