June 18 11:32 AM

Zott, Strouse garner spots on the Div. 5-6 All-State football squad

December 03, 2008
ALMONT — The Almont football football squad had a pair of their players recognized on the Associated Press Division 5-6 All-State lineup which was released this past week.

Neal Zott, a 6-0 and 185-pound senior, threw for 831 yards and six touchdowns as Almont's quarterback this fall.

He also rushed for 505 yards and five touchdowns.

And his impact did not end there for Almont. He also returned punts and kicks for six touchdowns.

Those aforementioned credentials enabled Zott to land All-State first team status as an All-Purpose player.

Ben Strouse was the other Almont player acknowledged for his accomplishments. He was chosen to Special Mention portion of the team for his prowess as a linebacker.

The 6-1 and 215-pound senior provided Almont with 96 tackles this fall. That featured 15 tackles for a loss, including 10 quarterback sacks.

Strouse also recovered three fumbles and blocked a punt that was returned for a touchdown.

Almont finished the season at 9-3 overall, earning a Division 5 district championship and a title game appearance along the way. The Raiders also ended the 2008 campaign with a 5-2 Blue Water Area Conference standing, which was good enough for a share of the league championship with Cros-Lex, Richmond and Yale.

The Almont duo are joined on the Associated Press Division 5-6 All-State squad by:

Player of the Year - Matt Eacker, Muskegon Oakridge.

Quarterbacks - Austin Collier, Muskegon Oakridge; Jimmy Osga, Grayling; and Cody Kater, Montague.

Neal Zott, of Almont, looks for an open receiver in a BWAC matchup this fall.
Running Backs - George Allen, Hartford; Trever Kruzel, Boyne City; Mark Onderlinde, Kalamazoo Christian; and Chris Robinson, Ovid-Elsie.

Receivers - Charlie Hoch, Elk Rapids; Zach Smith, Grand Rapids West Catholic; and Robert McIntyre, Whitmore Lake.

Linemen- Adam Kent, Iron Mountain; Zac Matthias, Hemlock; Derek Shell, Onsted; Brandon Wolf, Constantine; Andrew Ottenwiess, Allendale; and James Patrick, Harper Woods.

Linebackers - Jeremy Gainer, Livonia Clarenceville; Ken Hoffman, Millington; Trent Page, Leslie; and Bo Themm, Saginaw Nouvel.

Defensive backs - Matt Eacker, Muskegon Oakridge; Jared McBride, Constantine; and Jacob Pedersen, Menominee.

All-Purpose - Dustin DeHoff, Montague.

Punter - Pat Rood, Iron Mountain.

Placekicker - Spencer Boorsma, Grand Rapids West Catholic.

Special Mention (Players receiving two or more votes from the panel):

Quarterback - Mitchell Gabriele, Hillsdale.

Running Backs - Kevin Stein, Hopkins; and Marck Berden, Saginaw Swan Valley.

Receivers - Chad Jacobs, Saginaw Nouvel; and Dylan Nabozny, Madison Heights Bishop Foley.

Linemen - Gauge Hunter, Parchment; Luke Bullendyk, Grand Rapids West Catholic; Chris Locke, Burton Bentley; and Jared Case, Kingsley.

Linebackers - Justin Hedrich, St. Charles; Ken McDaniel, Muskegon Heights; and Adam Gulvas, Standish Sterling.

Defensive Backs - Matt Bowen, Sanford Meridian; and Michael Pannone, Monroe St. Mary Catholic Central.

Placekicker - Brennan Holroyd, Hillsdale.

Honorable Mention (Players receiving one or no votes from the panel):

Quarterbacks - Kyle Jensen, Gladstone; Kevin Bryce, Watervliet; Nolan O'Brien, Berrien Springs; Ryan Henris, Saginaw Nouvel; Rob Feeman, Clawson; Josh Herbeck, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; and Eric Schmidt, Blissfield.

Running Backs - Robert Essex, Carrollton; Clinton Orr, Buchanan; and Alex Fisher, Freeland.

Receiver - Ryan Sersaw, Clare.

Linemen - Justin Schafer, Portland; Steven Graebner, Freeland; Greg McEwan, Laingsburg; Jon Roethlisberger, Shepherd; Patrick DiDonato, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; and Gauge Aebersold, Onsted.

Linebackers - Ethan Webb, Battle Creek Pennfield; Erik Critchlow, Olivet; and Brad Teusink, Hopkins.

Defensive Backs- Jeff Burd, Vermontville Maple Valley; Will Rickert, Manchester; and Nic Jobe, Ida.

Placekickers - Steve Embry, Clinton; and Kaj Carlson, Kalamazoo Christian.

Punters - Dan LaJoie, Allendale; and Matt DaJong, Montague.

Coach - Rex Weaver, Hopkins.

Castle Creek
06 - 18 - 19
Site Search

Thanks for visiting Tri City Times