July 23 06:38 PM

Preliminary election results

November 05, 2008
TRI-CITY AREA — Here are the unofficial election results from the November 4 general election.

In Lapeer County:

Kevin Daley, a Republican, will take office in January as the newest 82nd District State Representative. He bested Democrat Bill Marquardt by more than 6,000 votes: 24,655 to 18,406.

Republican incumbent Prosecutor Byron Konschuh beat out Democrat Phil Fulks for a four-year term with 25,989 votes to 16,169.

Republican Dana Miller topped Democrat Michele Perry to earn a four year-term as county treasurer. The vote totals were 24,191 for Miller and 17,201 Perry.

Imcumbent road commissioner Dale Duckert, a Republican, managed to keep his seat, a six year term, by a slim margin despite a challenge from Larry Van Horn, a Democrat. Duckert received 20,900 votes to Van Horn's 20,552.

On the non-partisan ballot, Eric G. Scott couldn't manage to unseat Circuit Court Judge Michael Higgins. The final tally was Higgins—19,805 and Scott—11,544.

In St. Clair County:

Tim Donnellon will become the county's top cop after defeating Democrat Tim Wiley. Donnellon earned 41,567 votes to Wiley's 36,702.

Robert Wiley will step in to fill Fred Fuller's job as drain commisisoner. Wiley garnered 39,079 votes to Democrat John Jones and his 34,051.

District 1 County Commissioner Steve Simasko, a Republican, will stay on the board after defeating Anne Baker, a Democrat by 1,600 votes: 5,887 to 4,272.

Incumbent Phil Pavlov managed to hang on to his 81st District House of Representative seat. He'll complete his third and final two-year term despite a challange by Democrat Brent Pencak. Pavlov received 30,124 votes and Pencak took home 16,757.

Candice Miller, easily swept her way to another term as the 10th Congressional District Representative. The Republican trumped her challengers Democrat Robert Dennison,Green Party's Candace Caveny and Libertarian Neil Stephenson.

Local write-in candidates were not successful in their bids. Paul Bowman fended off Gary Groesbeck's challenge for Almont Twp. supervisor with 2,222 votes to Groesbeck's 502.

Also in the village of Capac, three write-in candidates—Barbara Cindric, Venus Dedenbach and Gary Pilarski—weren't able to get enough votes to beat out the three candidates who filed in time to get their names on the ballot—Robert Lombardo (396), Peter Frangedakis (324) and Greg VanNeste (251).

As for national races, Democrat Barack Obama emerged the victor in the presidential race and was the top vote getter in St. Clair County while Republican John McCain managed to get the majority of Lapeer County votes, but only by a slim margin to Obama—22,831 to 21,457.

As for state proposals, both measures to allow for medical use of marijuana and stem cell research were victorious, but in both Lapeer and St. Clair counties more 'no' votes for proposal two (stem cell research) were tallied.

Castle Creek
07 - 23 - 19
Site Search


Thanks for visiting Tri City Times