May 21 • 03:00 AM

Candidates make final bid

Recap of area's races, issues on August 5 primary election ballot

July 30, 2008
TRI-CITY AREA — Candidates are making their final bid for election before voters head to the polls on Tuesday, August 5.

All polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Contested races in the area include:

In Lapeer County, voters will choose a Republican—Todd Courser, Kevin Daley, Gary Howell, Randy St. Laurent, Paul St. Louis, John Stack, Ben Stahl—and a Democrat candidate—Jason Blauet, Bernard Jocuns and Bill Marquardt—for the 82nd District House of Representatives race. Each party's winner will then face off in November's general election.

In the sheriff's race, incumbent Ron Kalanquin will face challenger Dale Jenkins.

Treasurer Sally Eilersen looks for another term. Dana Miller looks to unseat her.

Incumbent road commissioner Dale Duckert seeks re-election. Jerry Hudson is his opponent.

All are Republicans.

Also, voters will be asked to renew the Suncrest millage for .33 mills, a reduction from the current .73 mills.

In Almont Twp., Paul Bowman is looking to unseat current Supervisor Gary Groesbeck while Bonnie Krauss is looking to do the same to Clerk Carol Hoffner.

Six residents will vie for four trustee seats—incumbents Randy Eschenburg, Thomas Moore, Scott Stroup and Dennis Sweers and newcomers Mindy Tobias and LeVern Tucker. All are running as Republicans.

In Attica Twp., voters will choose between incumbent Supervisor Al Ochadleus or his two opponents, George Ludington and David Ray Nutt. All three are Republican candidates.

In Arcadia Twp., four men are looking to take outgoing Supervisor Kevin Daley's job—Steve Coulter, Dennis Hall, John A. Howell and Craig Prena. Two residents hope to follow outgoing Treasurer Stacy Vanecek—Patricia Cahoon and Daniel Winslow. All are running as Republicans.

In Dryden Twp., the only race is between current Treasurer Joyce Korson and challenger Lynn Eutsler.

In St. Clair County, 81st District State Representative Phil Pavlov seeks re-election. Fellow Republican Peter Frangedakis is his challenger. Democratic candidate is Brent Pencak.

Two Republicans and two Democrats seek the sheriff's job—Tim Donnellon and Ray Foltz and Patsy Chapman and Tim Wiley.

Drain commission candidates include Republicans Jeff Currier and Robert Wiley and Democrat John Jones.

In Berlin Twp., Koleen McVeigh, current supervisor, will face fellow Republican Bill Winn. Trustees Mark Wittstock and Bob Christian seek re-election and are challenged by David Naeyaert. A millage renewal request for the fire department will also appear on the ballot.

In Mussey Twp., former supervisor Randy Schultz has thrown his hat into the ring as a Republican to try and oust current Supervisor Mike Lauwers, also a Republican.

For preliminary election results as soon as they're available on Tuesday, August 5 check out our Web site at

Castle Creek
Milnes Ford
05 - 21 - 19
Site Search

Thanks for visiting Tri City Times